About School

Ihavandhoo school is the largest educational institute in Haa Alifu atoll with the highest student enrollment of more than 800 students providing education from pre-school to higher secondary. This great school’s history goes back to 1969 when it was first inaugurated on May 25th of the same year. On 22nd February 1981 the name of the school was changed from “Makthabul Nooru” to “Ihavandhoo Makthab”. Today the school’s name is “Ihavandhoo School”, which was officially given on 21st September 2003.

When the school was established the Head of School was former Island Chief Late Mr. Abdul Samad Hussain (Vaijeheyge, HA.Ihavandhoo) under whose guidance teaching and learning of the school was managed by Academic In-Charge Mr. Abdul Qanee Hussain (Haashimeemanzil, HA.Ihavandhoo). First teachers of the school were Late Mr. Moosa Hussain (Dhan’buge, HA.Ihavandhoo), Mr. Hassan Mohamed (Gulbakaage, HA.Ihavandhoo) and Late Mr. Abdullah Moosa (Gulfaamuge, HA.Ihavandhoo).

Today Ihavandhoo School shines at the pinnacle of education sector in Maldives with one of the highest number of graduate and post grate local staff in the whole nation. The school is equipped with fully fledged IT infrastructure in Audio Visual Room, Computer Lab, Library. All the classrooms of Ihavandhoo School are fully digitized enabling teachers to disseminate the knowledge with the help of modern technology and latest teaching techniques. The offers various educational options to students through three different course of studies in O’Level, they are Business, Science and B-Tech. Being the first higher secondary school in Haa.Alifu atoll Ihavandhoo school’s higher secondary department offers both science and business studies courses.

Over the course of the years the students of Ihavandhoo School have accomplished marvelous achievements in both academic and extra-co-curricular activities at the national and international level.  In the recent history, the school’s name is repeatedly echoed in the media as an institute securing top results in national level literary competitions.



  • No categories